I am addicted to The Hunger Games: Real or not real?

Okay, okay. I’ve read reviews, seen the trailer, and heard lots of talks about it around. I know it’s good because thousands of people won’t go gaga over it if it isn’t. But I had to see for myself. Just like I always do.

So I started reading Book 1 last Friday. It was after dinner and I just finished The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, as mentioned in my previous post. As I flicked through the first few pages, This really is good, I thought. I was caught up on each word and the next thing I know, it’s 1 am. Shoot, I have 9 am classes tomorrow. I shut the book.

Saturday night. I picked up where I left off. And that’s all I remember, until I finished Mockingjay yesterday at 4 in the morning, ranting on Twitter about how I can’t sleep because I kept thinking of Panem and Snow and the mutts. And Peeta. Peeta Mellark. I don’t understand.

In case you don’t believe me, you can ask my housemates because I hardly remember anything from the last 5 days. Aside from clutching the books, of course. I even learned eating meals with one hand, and got good at it. Exercised my eyes while reading Book 2 in the bus the whole trip, sometimes even under poor lighting. My laptop also rested for 2 consecutive days for the first time (until my sister asks if she could use it – I merely nod or grunt, dismissing any disturbances). I even think I dodged a couple of calls from my dad, not intentionally of course, but I silenced my phone and locked it away, cut my connection from the rest of the world. And get this, I rarely watched TV and every time I catch it on, that one FITA commercial instantly pulls my eyes from the book. I make a mental note: FITA, the biscuit ≠PEETA, the tribute.

See, I can’t seem to function properly. Even until now. And to add to all that, picturing Josh Hutcherson as Peeta is so not helping. One time, my sister was playing Tetris and I asked her to YouTube the THG trailer while I started on Book 2. We watch it first together. Then I replay it, and replay it. She climbed upstairs, leaving me fangirling alone. And there I was, getting lost on the cast’s interviews (mostly Josh’s, harhar) and different fansites. And without even noticing, he ends up as my wallpaper.

Well yeah, the things I do for The Hunger Games. I got to let it out here since I don’t have anyone else to talk to about this. Who knows, one day I might enroll myself in an archery class. Truth be told, I am seriously considering that one.

What do you think? Real or not real?

Thoughts?

