Because I can afford to think like this

Happy Hunger Games!

I bet my hat you have seen it already. If you haven’t, then you better get your ass on the cinemas near you like, RIGHT NOW.

If you have, then feel free to read on.

Despite my hectic schedule with all the OJT and thesis going on, being the ever so dedicated fangirl that I am, of course I did make the time to see the film on its advance screening last Tuesday. Since then, thoughts about it never left my mind.

I’ve been meaning to post right after watching but I just didn’t get the chance. I did, however, get to see the movie the second time last Saturday, which amended some of my thoughts about it. This is just me being critical.

The Hunger Games (2012)

Verdict: Satisfactory / ★★★☆☆

Coming from a big fan of the book who read the trilogy for 5 days, stalked the cast for months, and constantly dreams of her marriage with Peeta Mellark (Yes, both the actor and the fictional character :))), in some ways I think the film could have been shot and done better.

Don’t get me wrong, I believe the screenplay and the adaptation in general was excellent. The cast is perfect, the acting was superb (All hail Jennifer Lawrence!), the musical score is perfection, and the production design was highly commendable for me. However, there were two things that I cannot shake off: Visual effects and cinematography.

I still believe Peeta and Katniss’ fiery entrance could have looked sooo much better and more grand. Same goes with Katniss’ twirling scene during Caesar Flickerman’s interview. I mean, the “girl on fire” could have been given more ‘umph’. I just didn’t find it as remarkable as I was expecting. Even the Capitol scenes were obviously limited, which I find insubstantial and weak especially for the non-readers.

As for the cinematography, I stand by my initial judgment that there was an exaggerated use of handheld and follow shots that it made me and my sister dizzy after. I would say it was appropriate for the forest scenes though, but still too shaky that you can’t actually see who’s killing who, which I suspect is because of the PG-13 rating. :\ Having said that, I didn’t like the fact that Marvel was hit on the torso (on the movie) rather than the neck (on the book). It kinda weakened Katniss’ wrath upon Rue’s then injury, imo.

In any way, this film is definitely a must-see. Though I have a theory that it might be better if you haven’t read the book. On the brighter side, there’s still Catching Fire and Mockingjay! This is only the first and there’s still a lot of room for improvement.

Until the 75th Hunger Games and may the odds be ever in our favor! x

Thoughts?

