Summer ender film list

As we bid summer 2013 goodbye, I figured I would share some of my favorite, underrated classic films that you may or may not have heard of. Here is to the young and lost and confused (like me lol) and even for the happy and in love – hopefully you can find something in here for you. Focusing on the Drama/Romance genre (which is perfect for this chilly weather, I might add), go set your hot coffee and prepare for some Kleenex as you cuddle in your bed – alone or with friends, who cares! – and take off on some film journey.

1. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

You think you know what this is about, but not really. Not until you get inside the head of Joel Barish (Jim  Carrey) that things would start to make sense one step at a time. It kind of reminds me of Inception and I even had to pause on some parts just to understand what was happening. Talk about mind fuck. However, I never thought I will enjoy this as much as I did.

2. Reality Bites (1994)

For the record, I fell in love with Winona Ryder on this one.. followed by my resentment on her breakup with Johnny Depp (?!?!) I KNOW it was 20-something years ago but wth, they were perfect together!

Ok anyway, I can very much identify to the “life after college” scenario more than anyone, being Lelaina Pierce (Ryder) is a filmmaking graduate struggling to find a career from her education, all the while refusing in compromising her own artistic vision. (No, I did not study film but it’s the closest I can get~) I guess that’s the hardest thing in this industry, which makes me like this film even more.

before trilogy3. Before trilogy (1995, 2004, 2013)

Now, this is a recent discovery. I’ve only seen the first two a few days ago and I must say that the strength of these films are in the characters and the script.

It’s about the connection of these two strangers, Jesse (Ethan Hawke) and Celine (Julie Delpy), and how far they are willing to go together given their individual circumstances. Set it in Vienna / Paris, or basically anywhere in Europe, and you’ve got  an authentic romantic film.

4. Sundays at Tiffany’s (2010)

Whether this can be considered a classic is debatable. But I really liked it that I just had to include it here.

Based on James Patterson’s bestseller novel, it tells the story of Jane (Alyssa Milano) and her imaginary friend Michael (Eric Winter) and their experiences into finding true love. I won’t say more but if you’re a sucker for cutesy love stories, this is definitely for you.

5. Some Kind of Wonderful (1987)

Five words: It’s a John Hughes production. Remember The Breakfast Club? Yup.

Watts (Mary Stuart Masterson) is secretly in love with her best friend Keith (the beautiful Eric Stoltz) while he was in love with the popular girl Amanda (Lea Thompson).. or at least he thinks so. I don’t know about you but this might have started the bff-love triangle fad that we enjoy so much today.

6. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

Just a bit of comedy to end this list, although not exactly underrated. You’ve seen it? Go see it again! You know it’s been a while.

Also: Adorable JGL + badass Heath Ledger = 4EVER WIN.

(All photos from Google)

x

Thoughts?

