All things Peter Pan and nothing hurts

(Photo source: weheartit)

Since I was a little girl, I’ve already been very fond of fairies and Neverland and the story of the boy who never grows up. I remember me bugging my mother to read it to me every night and how many times I used to watch the Disney movie; how easy he makes out flying to be and that someday, I can even do it myself – that all it would take is faith, trust, and pixie dust. I almost wanted to weep when I saw him on Disneyland last year, I swear. Definitely one of the best memories ever.

This past week I’ve been indulging on all things Peter Pan just for the sake of it and here are some I’d like to share.

pp

Speaking of the Disney movie! Surely almost everybody is familiar with this. Perhaps it’s time to revisit the 1963 classic and fall in love all over again? And yes, there was a sequel released in 2002 in case you didn’t know.

Hello, 13-year-old Jeremy Sumpter. Need I say more?

If it wasn’t for my intensive fan-, I mean Pan-girling, I wouldn’t be rewarded with this 1991 Spielberg film. Ever thought of what would happen if Peter Pan grew up? Then you better check this out.

Of course, the experience won’t be complete if we didn’t learn about where it all started. Inspired by true events, Finding Neverland tells about the inspiration that fueled Sir James Matthew Barrie to create the magical world from the children’s classic.

Okay, let’s talk about this because I’m guessing you haven’t heard of it before.

“Neverland, a prequel to author J.M. Barrie’s classic, Peter Pan, sweeps in time from the turbulent seas of the pirates of the Caribbean and the back alleys of Dickensian London to a world of pure imagination.

Peter (Charlie Rowe), along with his pals of young pickpockets, have been rounded up by their mentor Jimmy Hook (Rhys Ifans) to snatch a magical orb which transports them to another world – Neverland.  Filled with white jungles and imposing cities formed out of trees created by Dr. Fludd (Dance)  and inhabited by a colony of tree spirits led by Tinker Bell (Keira Knightley), this mysterious realm welcomes unknown friends and enemies snatched from time.” – from Syfy.com (See more about it here)

Despite the critics, although I understand where they’re coming from, I believe Neverland had a rich concept and had so much potential. I think it’s interesting enough for me to finish it’s two episodes and leave me wanting for more. Also, Charlie Rowe, omg. If you’re not interested in watching this then at least check him out. :p But yeah, I think hardcore Pan fans should see it.

(Source: Pan Fans)

Meanwhile on Tumblr, the Peter Pan fandom – Pandom as they call it – has been dominating my dashboard and I couldn’t be any happier about it.

    

    

(Source: Pan Fans)

Meet Pan Fans, an account dedicated for all us Pan fans around the world. It’s basically a compilation of GIFs from different Disneyland x Peter Pan videos circulating the internet which showcases how adorable and inspirational for the kids and the kids at heart the boy adventurer is. You see, it’s one thing to love the character, but it’s another story to interact with your personified childhood crush. Which is exactly my case that’s why I feel tremendously for this account. (Here’s Buzzfeed to back me up here)

Since this post is getting too long, I’m going to leave you with a song (lolwut). Girls like me are constantly in search for their “Peter Pan” (yes I just said it), but apparently there are boys out there who look out for their own Wendys, too. Hear what All Time Low’s got to say about that. Enjoy. x

(All TV/movie posters found in Google)

Thoughts?

