Dissecting the bookshelf

I am no bookworm (I have only read a measly 12 books last year) and neither do I own a massive book collection. What I do, however, is I see to it that I get to read regularly about whatever tickles my fickle fancy. So I thought, why can’t I share my own ideal bookshelf despite my tiny library? Inspired by the art and idea of Jane Mount from My Ideal Bookshelf, I have made my own to dissect and share to everyone.

A Walk to Remember  by Nicholas Sparks

My first Sparks novel and still his best in my opinion (I have read three so far). I have seen the film twice and knew I just had to get my hands on it so I bought it the very next day from the nearest bookstore, which luckily had the version with Mandy Moore and Shane West on the cover! You know how dedicated I can get sometimes. But truth be told, I cried buckets on this one. I mean, who didn’t? Pure love and faith and miracles – just everything that this cruel world and the non-believers need.

I Kissed A Zombie and I Liked It by Adam Selzer

“Go to college. Have a lot of babies. Break a lot of hearts. And realize every minute of it.” Don’t let the cheesy title and cover fool you, okay. This has practically everything I love in it – music, zombies, and humor. It’s sweet and cute and weird just how I often like it. It’s a light, fun read that has marked me like no other book ever did. Definitely re-reading it soon!

The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

My first attempt on reading an e-book, which ended up with me buying a physical copy after a few chapters and never trying e-books again. This has just too many quotable statements that ring true to myself then and now; too many things that I never thought I wanted to say until Chbosky wrote it down. He just gets it, and I love him for that.

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Out of the five installments released, Ashes has gotta be my most favorite of them all simply because of Simon Lewis’ abundance in the story. (Read my thoughts on the City of Bones movie and Simon here) I don’t intend to spoil but I’ll admit that tears were shed more times than they were supposed to. What can I say, I feel so much for Clary and Simon’s relationship.. or lack thereof. I just wish they’ll push through with the filming soon because it NEEDS to happen!

The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

A little difficult to read for my taste but completely filled with opinions and perspectives that I needed at the time. It’s heavy, sad, twisted, and frightening on how real it is, even in the modern world. I guess it became a goal of mine that whatever my future brings, I would never end up like Anthony or Gloria, ever. Because I’d rather be poor with a purpose than wealthy and a waste.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Ahh, magic. Could never get enough of it, could we? The imagination and creativity running through the pages of this book surely captivated me from start to finish. And I love those kinds that play with your mind even after you’re through with them; those that push your limits and subtly make you question reality. I know it’s fiction, but damn, I wish it wasn’t.

Looking For Alaska by John Green

As much as we all want to know what really went down with Alaska, we just can’t. That’s the thing. And it can be haunting or freeing, depending on how you choose to view it. Insightful, compassionate, and definitely moving, it’s an incredible journey and has got to be one of the best written books out there. Looking forward for more John Green novels now. x

Thoughts?

