Embracing lifestyle changes

Okay I admit – I find it fascinating how I manage to keep myself occupied in spite of my being unemployed for half a year now. From staying artsy to running parental errands; from catching up on old and new TV shows to random road tripping. There’s just too many things to learn and explore, even within the confines of our humble home. Stuff I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to do if I was part of the 9-to-5 work force, which, I’m not gonna lie, I have considered for a brief moment. But apparently I’m not good enough to any of the companies I’ve applied in so… screw that! Forward is the only direction we ought to keep going! So yeah, lately I may have been a little too obsessed about my two new hobbies: cooking and working out!

Okay, it’s not as if I’m setting out to go and be a professional chef or anything. I’m leaving that to my sister, but it’s never too late to learn a new skill. ;) I just didn’t want to rely on anyone for what I eat since I officially started eating clean. (More on that later) I know I used to despise weekly meal planning because school and deadlines made me oh-so-tired-and-cranky most of the time but now… I don’t exactly have an excuse, do I? Let me a share a conversation that has transpired between my sis and I a few days ago:

Mikka: Ok.. what’s happening to you? Why are you doing all these??

Me: Hey hey. I’m already jobless. I just– I can’t be unemployed and unhealthy at the same time. Just. No. And leAVE ME ALONE.

And she did. Sometimes she still makes snarky comments about this imposed change in our lifestyle but let’s face it – she needs it more than I do. LOL, kidding. Okay, only HALF kidding. But seriously, what negative results can even come out from it?

Last week’s menu! Except for those not-so-healthy chocolate chip cookies which I made only because I had excess ingredients I needed to get rid of. (I have only consumed 1 1/2 cookie since then btw, and I’m telling you, discipline is key! :D) In the photo: Eggs Benedict, Tuna Casserole, Chicken Stir Fry, Caprese Quiche, Weeknight Spaghetti, Beef Stir Fry, Veggie Burgers, and Breakfast Pita <3

About clean eating: I found this awesome website by Tiffany McCauley called www.thegraciouspantry.com and it taught me everything I know about clean eating and, after reading her articles, pushed me to start! You should check it out!

*insert image of my ugly, sweaty face, lol*

Of course overall health can’t be achieved through healthy diet alone. I have been exercising before, although sporadically. Last November I started doing it 3x/week at most, sometimes running for an hour on weekends – which I later learned is not enough. It was halfway through January when I decided to step it up a bit. Now I TRY to workout everyday for at least an hour and run whenever I can (meaning: whenever the sun isn’t up and I’m awake :p). Thanks to workout DVDs and to the various fitness blogs I’ve been following, I’ve managed to last for weeks now!

And that’s basically it. I always knew I’m bound to do this eventually – eat healthy and be healthy, and I still have a lot to learn. But why not start now? x

Thoughts?

